Wild East

11.00

When 14-year-old music-lover Ronny’s life gets messy, his mum decides they’re moving out of London. In Norwich, as a Black teenager in a mostly white school, Ronny feels like a complete outsider. He tries his best to balance keeping his head down, and his goal of becoming a rapper alive. But when a local poet comes into class, he opens Ronny’s world to something new. Rap is like spoken word, lyrics equal poetry – and maybe the combination of both could be the key to Ronny’s dreams?

In stock

Description

The soaring debut YA verse-novel by Ashley Hickson-Lovence, perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds, Manjeet Mann, and Dean Atta.

Pen in one hand, on my wrist, a ticking clock
I’ve got to make this work, just need a little luck…

When fourteen-year-old Ronny’s life is struck by tragedy, his mum decides it’s finally time they move out of London.

In his new city, as a Black teenager in a mostly white school, Ronny feels like a complete outsider and struggles to balance keeping his head down with his ambition of becoming a rapper.

But when a local poet comes into class, Ronny discovers a world he’s never considered before. Rap is like spoken word, bars equal poetry – and maybe the combination of both could be the key to achieving his dreams?

Praise for Wild East:

This empowering verse novel announces the arrival of an exciting new talent in YA fiction – Waterstones.com

A powerful story of resilience, friendship, discovery and growth – Jeffrey Boakye, author of Kofi and the Rap Battle Summer

An amazing tale of self-reflection, acceptance, and achieving your greatest aspirations – screenrant.com

Welcomes all types of readers…Hickson-Lovence has crafted a superb piece – DD Armstrong, author of Ugly Dogs Don’t Cry

Additional information

Weight0.234 kg
Dimensions19.8 × 12.9 × 1.8 cm
Author

Publisher

Imprint

Cover

Paperback

Pages

320

Language

English

Edition

Paperback original

Dewey

823.92 (edition:23)

Readership

Children – juvenile / Code: J