Expectation

15.59

Hannah, Cate and Lissa are young, vibrant and inseparable. Living on the edge of a common in East London, their shared world is ablaze with art and activism, romance and revelry – and the promise of everything to come. They are electric. They are the best of friends. Ten years on, they are not where they hoped to be. Amidst flailing careers and faltering marriages, each hungers for what the others have. And each wrestles with the same question: what does it take to lead a meaningful life? This is a story of the highs and lows of friendship – how it can dip, dive and rise again. It is also about muddling through: as a mother, a daughter, a wife, a rebel. Most of all, it explores that liminal space between expectation and reality, the place – full of dreams, desires and pain – in which we all live our lives.

Description

Profoundly intelligent and humane. Deserves to feature on many a prize shortlist’ GUARDIAN
‘A brilliant exploration of friendship, feminism and thwarted ambition’ PANDORA SYKES, Highlow Best Read
‘If you wished Normal People had tackled female friendship, try ExpectationGRAZIA
_______________________

What happened to the women we were supposed to become?

Hannah, Cate and Lissa are young, vibrant and inseparable. Living on the edge of a common in East London, their shared world is ablaze with art and activism, romance and revelry – and the promise of everything to come. They are electric. They are the best of friends.

Ten years on, they are not where they hoped to be. Amidst flailing careers and faltering marriages, each hungers for what the others have. And each wrestles with the same question: what does it take to lead a meaningful life?

The most razor-sharp and heartbreaking novel of the year, EXPECTATION is a novel about finding your way: as a mother, a daughter, a wife, a rebel.

FOR FANS OF SALLY ROONEY, DOLLY ALDERTON, ELIZABETH DAY AND PHOEBE WALLER-BRIDGE’S FLEABAG

___________________
Thoughtful, beautifully written, honest. A sensual book. I URGE YOU TO READ IT’ MARIAN KEYES

‘Will resonate with approximately 99% of women’ RED MAGAZINE summer pick

One of the most intensely readable novels this year’ METRO

One of our most gifted contemporary writers’ WATERSTONES

Beautiful, sharp, moving. I urge you to read it’ ELIZABETH DAY

I couldn’t stop reading the fab Expectation. Such brilliant points on the feminist legacy’ PROF KATE WILLIAMS

The story of three college friends, if you’re a fan of Sally Rooney, you’ll love EXPECTATIONIRISH EXAMINER

‘A must-read’ FABULOUS MAGAZINE Book of the Year

Exceptional.. I highly recommend it’ STACEY HALLS

‘A generation-defining book on motherhood, ambition and sex. Like Normal People with female friendship under the microscope.’ ERIN KELLY

Totally unputdownable, immersive, sharp. I loved it’ HARRIET EVANS

Jaw-droppingly good’ SARRA MANNING

‘SO GOOD. A ‘What they did next’ story of characters from a Sally Rooney novel’ SARAH FRANKLIN

‘Few novels leave me so genuinely breathless with their brilliance’ HANNAH BECKERMAN

‘The perfect summer readingSTYLIST

Sublime’ GOOD HOUSEKEEPING

‘Dark, relatable, elegant’ LIZA KLAUSSMANN

‘Intimate and touching’ NINA POTTELL

‘A marvellously tangy London novel DAILY MAIL

A grown-up, honest take on female camaraderie. Packed with talking points’ MAIL ON SUNDAY

Hugely absorbing, massively enjoyable’ LISSA EVANS

‘An observant look at the complexities of modern female friendships’ I-NEWSPAPER

Perceptive, intelligent, bittersweet, and beautifully written’ BOOKBRUNCH

‘Brings to vivid life that tension one feels just before middle age, when it begins to become clear life won’t end up looking exactly how we thought it would. The female friendships here are ones we’ll all recognize. Outstanding’ MARY BETH KEANE

A HighLow, Good Housekeeping, Red, Spectator, Prima, Fabulous and Irish Independent Best Read of 2019

Additional information

Weight0.407 kg
Dimensions23.4 × 15.3 × 2.4 cm
Author

Publisher

Imprint

Cover

Paperback

Pages

336

Language

English

Edition

Export ed

Dewey

823.92 (edition:23)

Readership

General – Trade / Code: K