Breaking Point

16.99

Susannah has two beautiful daughters, a high-flying medical career, a successful husband and an enviable life. Her hair is glossy, her clothes are expensive; she truly has it all. But when – on the hottest day of the year – her strict morning routine is disrupted, Susannah finds herself running on autopilot. It is hours before she realises she has made a devastating mistake. Her baby, Louise, is still in the backseat of the car and it is too late to save her. As the press close in around her, Susannah is put on trial for negligence. It is plain to see that this is not a trial, it’s a witch hunt. But what will the court say?

Description

Breaking Point is raw, compelling, and ground-breaking; Coffey puts the life of working mothers under a microscope. To say I loved it is an understatement, I expect it will be a huge success.’ Liz Nugent

‘A gripping, compulsive pageturner about what we expect from women, especially mothers. It’s going to be a massive hit.’ Marian Keyes

One mistake could cost her everything.

Susannah has two beautiful daughters, a high-flying medical career, a successful husband and an enviable life. Her hair is glossy, her clothes are expensive; she truly has it all.

But when – on the hottest day of the year – her strict morning routine is disrupted, Susannah finds herself running on autopilot. It is hours before she realises she has made a devastating mistake. Her baby, Louise, is still in the backseat of the car and it is too late to save her.

As the press close in around her, Susannah is put on trial for negligence. It is plain to see that this is not a trial, it’s a witch hunt. But what will the court say?

Readers love Breaking Point:
‘A genuine contender for best book I have read this year.’ *****
‘I was reading through the tears and couldn’t read it fast enough’ *****
‘An excellent novel, perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult and Diane Chamberlain’ *****
‘If you want an addictive, pacey read, this is for you!’ *****
‘I was a bit of an emotional wreck at the end’ *****

‘A rare treat, an emotional thriller steeped in humanity. I read it in a single sitting!’ John Boyne

‘Gripping, unswerving, heart-breaking, you’ll read this book through parted fingers – and learn a crucial lesson as you go.’ Celia Walden, author of Payday

‘Really enjoyed this terrifyingly plausible debut, with much to say about parental guilt and how society treats working motherhood.’ Katherine Faulkner, author of Greenwich Park

‘An incredibly powerful thriller with real emotional depth – and a chillingly relatable storyline.’ TM Logan, author of The Holiday

Additional information

Weight0.5 kg
Dimensions23.2 × 15.2 × 3 cm
Author

Publisher

Imprint

Cover

Paperback

Pages

368

Language

English

Edition

Export ed

Dewey

823.92 (edition:23)

Readership

General – Trade / Code: K