An invitation to the Kennedys

18.75

Kathleen ‘Kick’ Kennedy, a recent arrival to England from Massachusetts, is already a huge hit in 1930s London society. Her status as the daughter of an ambassador puts her at the centre of the most elite social circles but being an American and a Catholic sets her apart, something she only comes to realise when she falls for Billy Cavendish, the future Duke of Devonshire. Their families will never approve the match – if her parents find out about their romantic attachment, she risks being sent back to America. Lady Brigid Guinness has no interest in love, marriage or society connections. Her brother-in-law Chips Channon, always seeking to increase his political capital, is keen for her to befriend Kick but Brigid has no interest in showing a brash American around town. When Chips invites both Brigid and Kick to his country estate in Essex however, neither of them is given a choice in the matter.

In stock

SKU: 9781399708029 Category: Tag:

Description

‘Perfect for fans of The Crown and Downton Abbey ‘ – Hazel Gaynor, bestselling author of The Last Lifeboat

Kathleen ‘Kick’ Kennedy, recently arrived from Boston, is already a huge hit in 1930s London society. As the daughter of the US ambassador, she is at the centre of the most elite social circles. But when she falls for a duke-in-waiting, she realises there are plenty of people who think she doesn’t belong.

Lady Brigid Guinness has no interest in love, marriage or society connections. But her brother-in-law Chips Channon has other ideas – and seems intent on pushing her towards a match with a dull German prince.

When Chips invites the Kennedys and a select group of friends and family to Kelvedon Hall, his country estate, Brigid and Kick discover that beneath the brittle facade of politeness, marriages are on the rocks, political intrigue abounds and nothing is really as it seems – all while the war in Europe grows closer by the day.

By the time their week in Essex has ended, both Kick and Brigid realise that their world is changing rapidly, and their hopes and plans for the future may have to change too . . .

Inspired by true-life events, An Invitation to the Kennedys is a spell-binding page-turner from the bestselling author of the Guinness Girls series.

Additional information

Weight0.58 kg
Dimensions23.2 × 15.2 × 3.6 cm
Author

Publisher

Imprint

Cover

Paperback

Pages

416

Language

English

Edition

C format original

Dewey

823.92 (edition:23)

Readership

General – Trade / Code: K