Wellness

20.90

The story of a marriage, a city and a society over two decades, Wellness is a major novel of our times, in the tradition of Jonathan Franzen and Elizabeth Strout.

SKU: 9781035008353 Category: Tag:

Description

An Oprah’s Book Club Pick. The New York Times Bestseller.

‘This brilliant novel will leave you thinking about the truth of your own life and the stories we tell ourselves and each other.’ – Oprah Winfrey

A powerfully affecting novel about how we change, grow and age, Wellness is a story of marriage, middle age, our tech-obsessed health culture, and the bonds that keep people together.

When Jack and Elizabeth meet as college students in the 90s, the two quickly join forces and hold on tight, each eager to claim a place in Chicago’s thriving underground art scene with an appreciative kindred spirit. Fast-forward twenty years to married life, and the no-longer-youthful dreamers are forced to face their demons, from unfulfilled career ambitions to painful childhood memories of their own dysfunctional families. In the process, Jack and Elizabeth must undertake separate, personal excavations, or risk losing the best thing in their lives: each other.

Moving from the gritty 90s Chicago art scene to a suburbia of detox diets and home renovation hysteria, Wellness mines the absurdities of modern technology and modern love to reveal profound, startling truths about intimacy and connection. In this follow-up to Nathan Hill’s electric debut, Wellness reimagines the love story with healthy doses of insight, irony and heart.

‘A hilarious and moving exploration of a modern marriage that astounds in its breadth and intimacy.’ – Brit Bennett, author of The Mothers and The Vanishing Half

‘Nathan Hill is a maestro . . . the best new writer of fiction in America – the best’ – John Irving

Additional information

Weight0.758 kg
Dimensions23.4 × 15.4 × 5 cm
Author

Publisher

Imprint

Cover

Paperback

Pages

624

Language

English

Edition

Export ed

Dewey

813.6 (edition:23)

Readership

General – Trade / Code: K