The talk

30.75

This graphic memoir provides a deeply personal meditation on the ‘talk’ parents must have with Black children about racism and the brutality that often accompanies it, a ritual attempt to keep kids safe and prepare them for a world that – to paraphrase Toni Morrison – does not love them.

Description

For readers of The Hate U Give and The New Jim Crow, an urgent graphic memoir on police brutality and anti-Blackness in twenty-first-century Amerikkka

‘The Ta-Nehisi Coates of comics’ Garry Trudeau, creator of Doonesbury
‘You won’t be able to put it down’ Alison Bechdel, author of Fun Home
‘I loved this book. You will too’ Victor LaValle, author of The Changeling

Darrin Bell was six years old when he had The Talk: his mother told him he couldn’t have a realistic water gun. She said she feared for his safety, that police tend to think of little Black boys as older and less innocent than they really are.

Through evocative illustrations and sharp humour, Bell examines how The Talk shaped intimate and public moments from childhood to adulthood. While coming of age in Los Angeles – and finding a voice through cartooning – Bell becomes painfully aware of being regarded as dangerous by white teachers, neighbours and police officers, and thus of his mortality. Drawing attention to the brutal murders of African Americans, and showcasing revealing insights and cartoons along the way, he brings us up to the moment of reckoning when people took to the streets protesting the murders of George Floyd and Breonna Taylor.

And now Bell must decide whether he and his own six-year-old son are ready to have The Talk.

Additional information

Weight1.255 kg
Dimensions26.1 × 18.8 × 2.8 cm
Author

Publisher

Imprint

Cover

Hardback

Pages

352

Language

English

Edition

Graphic ed

Dewey

741.5 (edition:23)

Readership

General – Trade / Code: K