The Manhattan girls

11.06

NEW YORK CITY, 1921

SKU: 9780008530945 Category: Tags: ,

Description

NEW YORK CITY, 1921

An impossible dream.
The war is over, the twenties are roaring, but in the depths of the city that never sleeps, Dorothy Parker is struggling to make her mark in a man’s world.
A broken woman.
She’s penniless, she’s unemployed and her marriage is on the rocks when she starts a bridge group with three extraordinary women – but will they be able to save her from herself?
A fight for survival.
When tragedy strikes, and everything Dorothy holds dear is threatened, it’s up to Peggy, Winifred and Jane to help her confront the truth before it’s too late. Because the stakes may be life or death?

A new novel from the internationally bestselling author, Sex and the City meets the 1920s in this sweeping tale of love, loss and the everlasting bonds of friendship. Perfect for fans of Fiona Davis, Dinah Jefferies and Chanel Cleeton.

Readers love The Manhattan Girls:

‘TERRIFIC! Deadly one-liners and killer cocktails combine in this compelling portrait of three fascinating women. Unputdownable.’ Veronica Henry, bestselling author of The Impulse Purchase

The Manhattan Girls completely stole me away? Paul slips inside her characters brilliantly, blending fact and fiction so seamlessly it’s impossible to tell where one ends and the other begins. A total treat? I loved it.’ Eve Chase, author of The Birdcage

A stunning tour de force. A potent cocktail of brilliant characterisation, pacy elegant writing, and mesmerising drama as four wildly clever, talented women negotiate the perils of Jazz Age New York. LOVED it!’ Tracy Rees, author of The Rose Garden

The Manhattan Girls pulled me into the dazzling world of prohibition New York and didn’t let me go? an utterly brilliant, entirely compulsive read. A seductive, heady triumph.’ Jenny Ashcroft, author of Under the Golden Sun

‘If ever we needed escapism it is now, and The Manhattan Girls does that perfectly, whisking you instantly away to the glittering world of 1920s New York? A sparkling read in so many ways!’ Liz Trenow, author of Under a Wartime Sky

‘I loved this funny and moving novel about the bonds of friendship.’ Fiona Valpy, author of The Storyteller of Casablanca

Oozing with passion and wit, and with Gill’s trademark talent for getting under the skin of her characters, this is a story for those who enjoy their novels with a side order of gin, jazz, and sass. An absolute treat!’ Hazel Gaynor, author of The Bird in the Bamboo Cage

Sizzling and compulsive? Gill Paul expertly conjures the brilliant and brittle world of Dorothy Parker and her contemporaries.’ Maggie Brookes, author of The Prisoner’s Wife

‘A riveting novel about friendship’s power to carry women through the grand highs and heartbreaking lows of 1920s New York.’ Georgie Blalock, author of The Last Debutantes

Wow, what an eye-opening story! Fascinating and riveting. Highly recommended!’ NetGalley Reviewer, ?????

‘Well written? compelling? I couldn’t put it down.’ NetGalley Reviewer, ?????

Five stars from me. A brilliant narrative about four unique and real women – I enjoyed every single page.’ NetGalley Reviewer, ?????

Wow! I loved this book so much. I can’t recommend it enough!’ NetGalley Reviewer, ?????

‘Such a fun read? Don’t miss it!’ NetGalley Reviewer, ?????

Additional information

Weight0.27 kg
Dimensions19.8 × 12.9 × 2.5 cm
Author

Publisher

Imprint

Cover

Paperback

Pages

x, 378

Language

English

Edition

Paperback original

Dewey

823.92 (edition:23)

Readership

General – Trade / Code: K