The Last Bookshop in London

12.50

The New York Times bestseller?for fans of All the Light We Cannot See and The Tattooist of Auschwitz!”An irresistible tale which showcases the transformative power of literacy, reminding us of the hope and sanctuary our neighborhood bookstores offer during the perilous trials of war and unrest.”?KIM MICHELE RICHARDSON, author of The Book Woman of Troublesome CreekAugust 1939: London prepares for war as Hitler’s forces sweep across Europe. Grace Bennett has always dreamed of moving to the city, but the bunkers and drawn curtains that she finds on her arrival are not what she expected. And she certainly never imagined she’d wind up working at Primrose Hill, a dusty old bookshop nestled in the heart of London.Through blackouts and air raids as the Blitz intensifies, Grace discovers the power of storytelling to unite her community in ways she never dreamed?a force that triumphs over even the darkest nights of the war.”A

SKU: 9781335284808 Category: Tag:

Description

The New York Times bestseller-for fans of All the Light We Cannot See and The Tattooist of Auschwitz!

“An irresistible tale which showcases the transformative power of literacy, reminding us of the hope and sanctuary our neighborhood bookstores offer during the perilous trials of war and unrest.”-KIM MICHELE RICHARDSON, author of The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek

August 1939: London prepares for war as Hitler’s forces sweep across Europe. Grace Bennett has always dreamed of moving to the city, but the bunkers and drawn curtains that she finds on her arrival are not what she expected. And she certainly never imagined she’d wind up working at Primrose Hill, a dusty old bookshop nestled in the heart of London.

Through blackouts and air raids as the Blitz intensifies, Grace discovers the power of storytelling to unite her community in ways she never dreamed-a force that triumphs over even the darkest nights of the war.

“A gorgeously written story of love, friendship, and survival set against the backdrop of WWII-era London.”-JILLIAN CANTOR, author of In Another Time and Half Life

“A love letter to the power of books to unite us, to hold the world together when it’s falling apart around our ears. This fresh take on what London endured during WWII should catapult Madeline Martin to the top tier of historical fiction novelists.”-KAREN ROBARDS, author of The Black Swan of Paris

Don’t miss Madeline Martin’s next heartwarming historical novel, The Booklover’s Library!

Also by Madeline Martin:

  • The Librarian Spy
  • The Keeper of Hidden Books

Additional information

Weight0.24 kg
Dimensions20.2 × 13.5 × 2 cm
Author

Publisher

Imprint

Cover

Paperback

Pages
Language

English

Edition

Original edition

Dewey
Readership

General – Trade / Code: K