The darkness

11.40

After being unceremoniously forced into early retirement at the age of 64, Detective Inspector Hulda Hermannsdóttir of the Reykjavik Police is refusing to go quietly. Hulda is told to pick a cold case to investigate for two more weeks, and then she must pack up her desk. She knows just the one. A young woman found dead on the seaweed-covered rocks of the Vatnsleysuströnd who was waiting to be granted asylum. Her death was ruled a suicide after a slapdash investigation. But when Hulda starts to ask questions she soon realises that there was something more to this case.

Weight0.245 kg
Dimensions19.8 × 12.9 × 2.1 cm
Author

Publisher

Imprint

Cover

Paperback

Pages

327

Language

English

Edition

1st paperback ed

Dewey

839.6935 (edition:23)

Readership

General – Trade / Code: K

Description

FEATURED IN THE TIMES TOP 100 CRIME NOVELS SINCE 1945

SOON TO BE A MAJOR TV SERIES

‘An intelligent, provocative whodunit with a killer twist’
IAN RANKIN
____________

A body is found off the coast of Iceland.

A cursory police investigation calls it suicide. She’s just another statistic, soon forgotten.

But not by Reykjavik Detective Inspector Hulda Hermannsdóttir.

Difficult and unconventional, Hulda is being forced into early retirement.

Offered one last cold case to investigate she chooses Elena’s.

And when she discovers another woman vanished at a similar time, she believes a killer roams free.

With days before she’s stripped of her badge, can Hulda catch the killer alone?
____________

THE MILLION COPY BESTSELLING AUTHOR

‘Superb . . . chilling . . . one of the greatest tragic heroines of contemporary detective fiction’ Sunday Times

‘Outstanding’ Daily Mail

‘Expertly plotted, with an ending that’s a true shocker’ Guardian

‘Brilliantly effective. Each book enraptures us’ The Times Literary Supplement

‘Magnificently dark and twisted and that ending – blimey!’ C. J. Tudor, bestselling author of The Chalk Man

Additional information

Weight0.245 kg
Dimensions19.8 × 12.9 × 2.1 cm
Author

Publisher

Imprint

Cover

Paperback

Pages

327

Language

English

Edition

1st paperback ed

Dewey

839.6935 (edition:23)

Readership

General – Trade / Code: K