Blood on the Tiber

12.29

Felix Gracchus, recovering from malaria, and Dermide Vanderville must pacify revolutionaries planning to set Rome ablaze, all the while solving the dark and intriguing puzzle of a local inheritance scandal.

Description

When Rome falls, so too will the world?

Christmas, 1797. Erstwhile magistrate Felix Gracchus wakes in the French embassy beside the Tiber after a serious bout of malaria. Despite his poor health, the intricate puzzle of a local inheritance scandal proves irresistible.

To his delight Lieutenant Vanderville has been assigned to the embassy intelligence section, tasked with pacifying the rabidly pro-revolutionary local patriots who seek to overthrow the state and install a republic in Rome.

But a sudden, terrible development threatens to bring disaster upon the whole embassy. Can the pair resolve it before Napoleon Bonaparte brings the full force of the republic down upon Rome in vengeance? Will Vanderville succeed in persuading the patriots from setting the city aflame? And why, amidst all this chaos, is Gracchus more interested in finding a missing nurse?

A totally engrossing historical mystery rich in period detail and fascinating characters, perfect for fans of Steven Saylor and C. J. Sansom.

Additional information

Dimensions19.8 × 12.9 × 2.2 cm
Author

Publisher

Imprint

Cover

Paperback

Pages

368

Language

English

Edition

Paperback original

Dewey

813.6 (edition:23)

Readership

General – Trade / Code: K