A green equinox

12.29

Hero Kinoull is an antiquarian bookseller whose sedate life in the picturesque English town of Beaudesert is turned upside down between the spring and autumn equinoxes of a single year. First her quiet but forbidden liaison with Hugh Shafto, the curator of the country’s finest collection of Rococo art, comes to an abrupt halt when she develops an adoration for his straight-talking, do-gooding wife Belle. But this relationship leads to other, even more unexpected feelings for Belle’s widowed mother-in-law, the majestic Kate Shafto, who spends her days tending her garden and sailing her handmade boats in the waters of the miniature archipelago she’s constructed in a disused gravel pit.

SKU: 9780349018393 Category:

Description

While I waited for sleep I retraced the road which brought me to you. Unbelievably it only took six months, equinox to equinox.

This dazzling rediscovered classic, shortlisted for the Booker Prize in 1973, is a heady, witty and seductive exploration of female sexuality – perfect for fans of Iris Murdoch and Brigid Brophy.

***
‘Funny and brave and moving and absolutely bonkers. I love this novel’ CHARLOTTE MENDELSON

‘Elizabeth Mavor relishes spirited, unorthodox women, free with their tongues and ready to snap their fingers at convention’
LONDON REVIEW OF BOOKS

Hero Kinoull is an antiquarian bookseller whose sedate life in the picturesque English town of Beaudesert is turned upside down between the spring and autumn equinoxes of a single year. First her quiet but forbidden liaison with Hugh Shafto, the curator of the country’s finest collection of Rococo art, comes to an abrupt halt when she develops an adoration for his straight-talking, do-gooding wife Belle.

But this relationship leads to other, even more unexpected feelings for Belle’s widowed mother-in-law, the majestic Kate Shafto, who spends her days tending her garden and sailing her handmade boats in the waters of the miniature archipelago she’s constructed in a disused gravel pit.

Additional information

Weight0.169 kg
Dimensions19.6 × 12.6 × 2.4 cm
Author

Publisher

Imprint

Cover

Paperback

Pages

224

Language

English

Edition

|Reprint

Dewey

823.914 (edition:23)

Readership

General – Trade / Code: K