The Howling Hag Mystery

8.60

When there’s a murder in the village and a hag is heard howling at the local inn, secret witch Raven Charming realizes she could have a rival – one who practises the worst kind of magic. With the help of amateur sleuth, Mortimer Scratch, and Nightshade, a talking cat with a feline sense of detection, she sets out to solve what’s been going on…

In stock

Weight0.26 kg
Dimensions20.1 × 14.3 × 2.4 cm
Author

Publisher

Imprint

Cover

Paperback

Pages

342

Language

English

Edition

Paperback original

Dewey

823.92 (edition:23)

Readership

Ages 5-12 / Code: B

Description

 

From the author of The Last Chance Hotel comes a brand new fantastical mystery series!

Praise for THE LAST CHANCE HOTEL:

‘Blending magical adventure with Golden Age crime mystery, this delightfully atmospheric spin-off from the author of The Last Chance Hotel confirms Thornton’s place as one of the most original children’s writers around.’ WATERSTONES

‘A jolly, atmospheric mystery.’ THE TIMES

‘All kinds of fun’ THE OBSERVER

‘[A] mash-up of murder mystery and fantasy … full of great characters, plot twists and intriguing detail.’ METRO

‘Featuring magical antics, a talking cat and a locked-room murder mystery, Seth’s story reads like an old-school whodunnit with added wizards and spells’ BOOKTRUST

Magic must never be misused …

When there’s a murder in the village and a hag is heard howling at the local inn, secret witch Raven Charming realizes she could have a rival – one who practises the worst kind of magic.

With the help of amateur sleuth, Mortimer Scratch, and Nightshade, a talking cat with a feline sense of detection, she sets out to solve what’s been going on …

  • A magical murder mystery perfect for fans of Robin Stevens and Harry Potter
  • Book 1 in a new spin-off series from the author of The Last Chance Hotel, chosen as Waterstones Book of the Month and nominated for the CILIP Carnegie Award
  • Features fan-favourite Nightshade as the star of her very own mystery!

Additional information

Weight0.26 kg
Dimensions20.1 × 14.3 × 2.4 cm
Author

Publisher

Imprint

Cover

Paperback

Pages

342

Language

English

Edition

Paperback original

Dewey

823.92 (edition:23)

Readership

Ages 5-12 / Code: B