The Good Turn

9.83

Josie is a future-focused, internet-loving eleven-year-old who is desperate to explore the world beyond her cul-de-sac – and her browser. When she learns about Josephine Holloway – a woman who started the first Girl Scout Troop for Black girls in America – she’s certain she must start her own. Enlisting her friends Margot and Wesley, the trio begin their quest for their Camping badge. Drawn to an abandoned factory nearby, they stumble across something strange. A square, ancient television and two tatty armchairs. Beside it, a wooden sideboard with an old photograph of a young, happy couple. What is this? Who, or what, lives here – and why?

In stock

Weight0.318 kg
Dimensions19.8 × 12.9 × 2.4 cm
Author

Publisher

Imprint

Cover

Paperback

Pages

381

Language

English

Edition

Paperback original

Dewey

823.92 (edition:23)

Readership

Children – juvenile / Code: J

Description

A thrilling, pacy adventure about friendship, bravery and real-life injustice from the award-winning author of High Rise Mystery

‘For 9+ readers, this gripping, thoughtful update to the Blytonesque “secret society” genre engages squarely with racism and social injustice.’ Guardian

‘Brilliant; a joy to the very end’ Katherine Rundell

Josephine Williams is definitely a leader – and her teachers know it! What other eleven-year-old is desperate for MORE schoolwork?

Looking for more challenging tasks, Josie enlists her friends Wesley and Margot into her very own Scout troop, the Copseys, named after the street they all live on. Together they start their quest for their camping badge by sleeping out near to the abandoned factory behind their houses.

But that night they stumble across something strange. Someone seems to be living in the derelict building! The Copseys have to solve the mystery… and perhaps earn their bravery and activism badges along the way…

Perfect for readers who love Robin Stevens and Katherine Woodfine, and full of fast-paced adventure, brilliant characters and snappy dialogue with themes of real-life activism and how to help others.

‘I love it!’ Elle McNicoll

‘An intriguing mystery adventure . . . bold and brilliant’ Sophie Anderson

‘A joy to read.’ Alex Wheatle

‘A funny, warm and thought-provoking celebration of community of all kinds’ Anna James

Additional information

Weight0.318 kg
Dimensions19.8 × 12.9 × 2.4 cm
Author

Publisher

Imprint

Cover

Paperback

Pages

381

Language

English

Edition

Paperback original

Dewey

823.92 (edition:23)

Readership

Children – juvenile / Code: J