The fight for the hidden realm

9.83

In a village above the cloud sea, twelve-year-old orphan Zhi Ging is chosen to become a Silhouette, an apprentice to the immortals. Taken to an underwater realm, she begins her training, competes in thrilling challenges and discovers she can awaken a special sort of dragon. But Silhouettes who fail the challenges seem to be disappearing and rumours are spreading of a growing dark force that threatens her world. Zhi Ging begins to realise that there is so much she has yet to learn about the world of the immortals – and herself.

In stock

Description

WATERSTONES CHILDREN’S BOOK OF THE MONTH

‘A soaring, luminous new world … An absolute delight!’ Jessica Townsend
‘An incredibly original and immersive fantasy adventure’ L.D. Lapinski
An absolute feast for the senses’ Nizrana Farook
‘A thrillingly immersive story of courage, self-discovery, and magic’ Sinead O’Hart

An extraordinary destiny unfolds . . .

Twelve-year-old Zhi Ging has always been an outcast. Until she receives an invitation to Hok Woh, an underwater school that offers her the chance to become immortal, and to finally belong.

There, she battles in hair-raising boat races, meets ageshifting tutors and competes in thrilling trials.

But there are rumours of a growing dark force . . . and students who fail the trials are disappearing. Can Zhi Ging uncover the truth before it’s too late?

The first in the unmissable magical fantasy series of 2024, set to take the world by storm. Perfect for fans of Nevermoor and Dragon Mountain.

Additional information

Weight0.256 kg
Dimensions19.6 × 12.6 × 2.6 cm
Author

Publisher

Imprint

Cover

Paperback

Pages

344

Language

English

Edition

Paperback original

Dewey

823.92 (edition:23)

Readership

Children – juvenile / Code: J