The Summer I Robbed A Bank

8.39

Rex’s parents have split up, he’s about to make the daunting move to secondary school, and to make matters worse he has to spend his summer holiday on a remote and rainy Irish island – with lots of unruly sheep for company. The only upside: he’ll be staying with his strange and brilliant Uncle Derm. Then Rex discovers Uncle Derm is about to execute his most hair-brained plan yet – to rob the island’s travelling bank. Like the local legend of medieval Pirate Queen Grace O’Malley, Uncle Derm plans to redistribute the money to local needy causes on the island. And he needs Rex’s help.

In stock

Description

‘Funny, warm as toast and packed full of ideas that fill up your head and burst in your brain like fizzy magic!’ Noel Fielding
‘A totally fun, madcap adventure that ends up robbing your heart’ Stewart Foster, award-winning author of The Bubble Boy

There’s a feeling of relief that comes just after you’ve robbed a bank…
Rex’s parents have split up and, to make matters worse, he has to spend his summer holiday on a remote and rainy Irish island – with only unruly sheep for company.

The only upside: he’ll be staying with his strange and brilliant Uncle Derm.

Then Rex discovers Uncle Derm is about to execute his most hair-brained plan yet . . . To rob the island’s travelling bank!

Like the local legend of medieval Pirate Queen Grace O’Malley, Uncle Derm plans to redistribute the money to local needy causes on the island. And he needs Rex’s help . . .

A chaotic robbery, plenty of sheep and a summer of discoveries come together in this hilarious and heart-warming novel from comedian, actor and author of Danger is everywhere, David O’Doherty. A perfect adventure for fans of Frank Cottrell Boyce, Ross Welford and David Walliams.

———-
Praise for David O’Doherty’s Danger is Everywhere series:

‘I dislocated my jaw laughing’ Eoin Colfer

‘Imagine the Mighty Boosh crashed into the Wimpy Kid’ The Times

Brilliantly funny’ Gransnet

Additional information

Weight0.213 kg
Dimensions19.8 × 12.9 × 1.8 cm
Author

Publisher

Imprint

Cover

Paperback

Pages

288

Language

English

Edition

Paperback original

Dewey

823.92 (edition:23)

Readership

Children – juvenile / Code: J