The Crooked Mask

9.99

Deep in a forest in Northern Norway lies the Circus of Myth and Mayhem. Martha is certain that unsolved mysteries are hidden there – and talks her way into getting a job as a psychic. She soon learns there’s something very strange about the circus. Costumed performers re-enact stories of the Norse gods wearing masks, which move and change expression, yet no one notices but her. And then there’s the creepy jester who invites her to ‘play’. When an old friend shows up at the circus Martha is thrown into turmoil. Is he there because he misses her or because he wants to stop her discovering the truth? And he isn’t the only liar she has to worry about. Loki has taken an interest in the circus and Martha finds herself drawn into a dangerous game of the gods. She must look behind the mask and see what’s really happening – before it’s too late.

In stock

SKU: 9781471409202 Category: Tag:

Description

Part ghost story, part murder mystery – a creepy and magical tale steeped in Norse myth, perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman.Welcome to the Circus of Myth & Mayhem – where performers re-enact tales of the Norse gods wearing masks which mysteriously change expression, the creepy jester isn’t quite human, and the big top is full of the dead.Martha arrives at the circus, deep in the forests of Northern Norway, determined to learn how Nina died. Did she fall from the trapeze as Stig said, or was there more to her ‘accident?’ Drawn into a dangerous game of the gods, Martha must look behind the mask and see the truth . . . before it’s too late.Following the events of THE TWISTED TREE, THE CROOKED MASK continues the story of Martha and Stig as she comes to terms with her magical inheritance. Praise for The Twisted TreeA creepy and evocative fantasy likely to make readers wary of the shadows in the corner of an eye, The Sunday TimesRattles along with proper page-turning pace, The Daily ExpressCreepy and amazing, MTV UKCreates an atmosphere of Stephen King intensity, The Irish ExaminerA terrific read – twisty and scary and instantly gripping, Waterstones (Exeter Roman Gate)A ghost story that will get under the skin of the most hardened reader, Starburst MagazineThe perfect book for cold and wintry nights, prepare to be chilled to your very bones, Culturefly

Additional information

Weight0.25 kg
Dimensions19.8 × 12.9 × 2.1 cm
Author

Publisher

Imprint

Cover

Paperback

Pages

277

Language

English

Edition

Paperback original

Dewey

823.92 (edition:23)

Readership

Children – juvenile / Code: J