The Chime Seekers

9.59

When an evil faerie steals Yanni’s baby sister and swaps her for a Changeling, Yanni is swept into a dangerous race against time to get her back. For faeries delight in tricks and rescuing her won’t be easy. With the help of his cousin, Amy, and the reluctant Changeling, Yanni must travel to goblin palaces and battle-swept oceans, discovering ancient treasures and secrets along the way. Yanni will need every drop of courage and even a few tricks of his own, if he’s to outwit the faerie and save his sister.

In stock

Weight0.266 kg
Dimensions19.8 × 12.9 × 2.3 cm
Author

Publisher

Imprint

Cover

Paperback

Pages

373

Language

English

Edition

Paperback original

Dewey

823.92 (edition:23)

Readership

Children – juvenile / Code: J

SKU: 9781406391190 Category:

Description

Heart-stopping fantasy from the Costa-shortlisted and critically acclaimed author of the bestselling The Midnight Guardians.

Step into a world of faerie tricks and hidden danger…

When an evil faerie steals Yanni’s baby sister and swaps her for a changeling, Yanni is swept into a dangerous race against time to get her back.

For faeries delight in tricks and rescuing her won’t be easy. With the help of his cousin, Amy, and the reluctant changeling, Yanni must travel to goblin palaces and battle-swept oceans, discovering ancient treasures and secrets along the way.

Yanni will need every drop of courage and even a few tricks of his own, if he’s to outwit the faerie and save his sister?

Ross Montgomery brings the magical world of British folklore to life in this contemporary fantasy novel. Bursting with Ross’s trademark charm, humour and heart, and with echoes of David Bowie’s Labyrinth, The Chime Seekers is perfect reading for fans of Emma Carroll, Piers Torday and David Solomons.

PRAISE FOR THE CHIME SEEKERS

“Cracking adventure from the wildly imaginative Montgomery.” Daily Mail

“Funny, terrifying, full of folkloric strangeness hiding in everyday corner, this sparkling homage to David Bowie’s Labyrinth is just as satisfying as last year’s The Midnight Guardians.” Guardian

“[A] whirlwind adventure.” Daily Telegraph

“Richly imaginative.” The Week Junior

“A quest like no other: Ross Montgomery is on spectacular form in this brilliant, edge-of-your seat story.” Emma Carroll

“Fast-paced and hilarious.” Ross Welford

“Deliciously creepy, wonderfully imaginative.” Sophie Anderson

“Very page-turny, with enough funny bits to stop it being too scary.” Philip Reeve

“All the hallmarks of an instant classic.” Carlie Sorosiak

“A fantastic adventure with shades of Jan Mark, Susanna Clarke and Neil Gaiman … A brilliant example of the best children’s fiction.” Christopher Edge

“Ross Montgomery is a true master of storytelling.” Jenny Pearson

“FLAWLESS. Witty, emotional, beautifully written, pacey, punchy, and a story that just keeps delivering.” Nicola Skinner

“A modern classic.” Phil Earle

“Rich in detail, humour and feeling. Ross Montgomery is a singular talent in writing brave and magical adventures.” Katya Balen

“Fantastic! A brilliant cast of characters … a whirlwind adventure and a fae world brimming with darkness, wonder and faerie tricks.” Aisling Fowler

“[An] enchanting masterpiece … Charming, hilarious and brimming with magic.” Catherine Doyle

“A tricksy, whirlwind of an adventure from start to finish with twists and turns I didn’t expect!” Aisha Busby

PRAISE FOR THE MIDNIGHT GUARDIANS

Shortlisted for the 2021 Costa Children’s Book Award

Waterstones Children’s Book of the Month for Christmas 2020

Hive Children’s Book of the Month for November 2020

A Toppsta Children’s Book of the Month for November 2020

“An enthralling, Narnia-flavoured novel with the folkloric feels of a Christmas classic.” Children’s Books of the Year, Guardian

“Beautifully drawn fantasy characters … a story of hope and love underpinned by witty humour.” Daily Mail

“A magical slice of historical fantasy fiction.” i Newspaper

“This lovely adventure story has the feel of a classic children’s book.” Book of the Week, The Week Junior

“Beautiful writing and epic storytelling.” WRD Magazine

“A real triumph of the imagination.” Editor’s Choice, The Bookseller

Additional information

Weight0.266 kg
Dimensions19.8 × 12.9 × 2.3 cm
Author

Publisher

Imprint

Cover

Paperback

Pages

373

Language

English

Edition

Paperback original

Dewey

823.92 (edition:23)

Readership

Children – juvenile / Code: J